Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SCSI Jumper Help Adding New Drives 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

adamroof

Programmer
Nov 5, 2003
US
Have a PERC4/SC single channel with 4 36GB 15K Fujitsu drives, bought 2 more drives from DELL and had to buy a 7 device 68pin U320 cable elsewhere

the drives came and are Seagate's

the two new drives wont recognize, gots ta be jumpers, i set the address or so i thought to 13 and 14, thinking the existing drives are 9 10 11 and 12

also have a tape drive, when booting it states the LSI controller is 7, tape device is 5

1. im quite new with SCSI mixn match, am i out of line to do this addition?
2. how can i confirm the current settings of the 4 drives?
3. can an ID be skipped?
4. the 2 drives by themselves would not recognize by the controller, the cable is good, works with existing 4 and boots to OS

the seagates have LSI chipsets, so do the fijuhistus.

the current 4 use the underside jumpers, the new drives have a backside jumper that sets the address.

New ---

- R 0 0 0 0 not certain on top row(isnt specified)
- R 8 4 2 1

pins as shipped were on 8-4; 2-1 both drives
i changed to 8-4;2-0 on one and 8-4; 1-0 on other (14 n 13 right?)

cant find info on existing drives.

thanks if you can shed info and my dark light.

ok, im wacked...

tape is on onboard controller

drives are on pci PERC4/SC
controller ID7,

i think the drives are ID 0-3
would that mean i should set the two drives to 4 N 5?

so i should pinout the addresses as

4-0;(leave other jumper off?) /:/ 4-0;1-0

i guess i need a scsi ID priority course huh?

Not geting into the jumpers...