Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Scripting language for Windows servers 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

lorel

MIS
Jun 15, 2004
Let me start by saying that I am not a Windows expert.

Is there a scripting language that would allow me to create short programs to perform different function in a Windows server system such as adding new users, changing passwords, and other items related to the server in general.
Since this script are to be run by our clients and not by us, I need something that will allow to write the script and also create the windows environment so the client can click on buttons and enter info, etc.
What I found so far is scripts that will do the function, but for them to have a Windows feeling, I have to use another script that creates the windows then call the script to do the function.
Is there something that will do both without forcing my to learn 2 different languages?

Thanks in advance for you replay which will be greatly appreciated

joe

Although PowerShell is now the 'de-facto' scripting tool for Windows operating systems, you can still leverage Windows scripting host functions that can run as a GUI for most tasks using legacy VBScript. Try googling "Windows Scripting Repository"

What I am looking for is ONE scripting language that will allow me to do the script for the function I need to do that also has the ability to create the windows environment. I know I may have to learn the scripting language, but I reluctant to be force to learn 2 languages to accomplish a simple task, one to do the task and another to create the windows environment for the task.
Is there such an animal?