Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Scripting Help 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

TekiePrincess

Programmer
Jun 1, 2009
US
I need to create a shell script to perform the following task:
1. Loop through a directory and ororead the file name of the .txt file and save it as a variable.
2. Read the line of that .txt file and from the first " to the last " save that information as a variable.
3. Other processes will be done then the file will be renamed to that of the second variable and saved to another directory.

Can someone please guide me in the right direction to get this done. I am very new to unix scripting and having a hard time with the variable portion of this task.

Hi

[ul]
[li]Please use descriptive subject.[/li]
[li]Post the script you wrote so far.[/li]
[li]For the Attachment field the explanation says "Type or paste full url (", so pasting you local file's path is useless. ( I mean, uploaded the file to a file hosting service then post its URL. )[/li]
[/ul]

Feherke.

1a) ororead is a typo, read is meant?
1b) 'the file name, the file' are singulars, so why do we have to loop?
1c) If it is just one file:
Code:
fnam=$(ls *.txt)

2) 'Read the line of that .txt file' - is there just one line?
Code:
fnam2=$(sed 's/.*"\(.*ß)".*/\1/' $fnam

3)
Code:
mv $fnam otherDir/$fnam2

don't visit my homepage:

stefanwagner
Thank you so much on helping to get this started to answer your questions:
1a) ororead is a typo, read is meant? Sorry, yes that was a typo. I did mean to say read.

1b) 'the file name, the file' are singulars, so why do we have to loop? I need to loop because there can be more than one file located in this directory at any given time.