Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

school needs help stopping hackers

Status
Not open for further replies.

liquidmonkey

Technical User
Sep 25, 2004
SE
i work as a math teacher (90%) and computer guy (10%) at a school and on our computers we are using windows XP which is run from another company on a network. in order to access the computers you must login and your own password. i'm sure you know the login screen. without this you cannot access anything OR so i thought.
kids have been getting into the computers, reseting the BIOS passwords, putting in Power Up passwords and such, one kid even installed a totally different version of windows. this is a problem and i would like to know a technical solution on 1) how to stop the kids from doing this and 2) how are they able to do this?
i'm no hacker / cracker and only work on the computers at the school 2 hours a week so i don't have a lot of time to deal with these problems in depth.
can someone out there please help me?

blasted kids! i'm so glad i've never worked in a school enviroment. It sounds like most of what is happening is occuring outside of windows xp when the computer is first turned on unless i'm wrong.

I guess you could start by going to all of the machines and setting your own access password into the bios. That way, when kids attempt to access the bios, they are prompted with a password.