Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

scheduling an email to deliver a vb created excel file

Status
Not open for further replies.

crogers111

Technical User
Jan 23, 2004
US
BOE XI

I use BOE quite a bit to schedule .rpt files but am now looking to schedule an .exe that will create an .xls file to be emailed.

I am not a VB developer but had someone in the office provide me with a simple test .exe file that I have successfully added to BOE using the CMC. It runs and outputs successfully to a path on the network as the code defines the path.

The code is basically as follows which is very simple just for testing purposes:

exportFileName = "//Server1/Reports/Filename_" & Format$(Now, "mmddyyyy") & ".xls"
Open exportFileName For Output As #1

Print #1, "This is a test"

HERE'S WHAT HAPPENS

When I try to schedule & run the above .exe to be emailed in BOE, the .xls IS written to the path defined in the code (which makes sense). An email is generated with all of the content I setup in BOE (email body, email submtect filename etc) but the attachment is a blank .txt file... It's like each proccess is running independently as they both parts do work.

HERE'S WHAT I WANT.

I want to use BOE to schedule the .exe to run (which is working) and deliver the .xls via an email.

in BOE, there is not an option to define the output type (xls, csv etc) as there is when adding an .rpt. Is there a way to have BOE deliver the format of the file that is set in the .exe ? Do I need to add something to VB code so it 'talks' to BOE ? other ?

Thanks in advance.