Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

scheduled job with stored procedure?

Status
Not open for further replies.

moroeh

Programmer
Oct 22, 2001
ES
Hello:

I need to do a scheduled job that must run every day at 0:00. I tried to do it with SQL SERVER enterprise manager, but the server we have is shared with some other clients and the server Admin told me we have no permits to do scheduled jobs (because of security problems).

The question is:

Is there anyway to do a scheduled job with stored procedures or so? My problem is that I am quite new to SQL SERVER and have no idea of doing stored procedures. Can anyone help me with this one?

Thanks in advance,

Good bye

What i do is i create a vbs file (vb script file) and call the stored prc from there.
a vbs file is simply a asp file but without the <% %> and other html tags....

when you have created the vbs file .. you then need to schedue it it windows task scheduler (using the cmd option)

if you need more explaining i will be happy to help....

Hi:

Thanks for your help, but I still have the same problem. I have no permissions in the server. I need to do someway I can execute the script on scheduled times (on the server itself).

ahhh i see ..
not sure if you can ... maybe some one else could throw some light your way..

sorry

What do you mean by &quot;I have no permissions in the server?&quot; Can you execute the stored procedure? If you can execurte the SP, how are you doing that?