Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Scan signature to transparent background? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrpatdlgs

Programmer
Mar 28, 2000
US
I am a complete novice when it comes to photoshop so would appreciate any and all "detailed" suggestions and/or instructions.

Occasionally this office needs to place "signatures" on MSWord documents (ultimately converted to pdfs) for our web site. We usually obtain the sigs by scanning directly into Photoshop 6.0 where they can be resized appropriately for use. Problem is, the final output sigs need to be gifs on a transparent background so that things like underlines and labels already in the document can show through the signature.

I have been unable to figure out how to extract just the signature from the scan. The "white" pixels within the scanned sig cause less than satisfactory results when I try to extract the sig with the lasso tool or magic wand. I also have trouble because the scan comes into photoshop with the layer automatically locked and I cannot unlock it. Help --- please!

Thanks,
John

Hi,

Take a big piece of paper, do the signature in a thick pen and really big, scan it in at a high resolution and then goto SELECT > COLOR RANGE and set the fuzziness to 40 and click on the white parts on your ACTUAL image and hold shift while you do that. Then after you hit ok, the white will be selected, hit delete, then start to resize the image down so that it cleans the edges up a bit, Then save it as a .png and import it to M$ Word.

Hope this helps!
relax.gif