Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

sata compatability stuff

Status
Not open for further replies.

3wsparky

IS-IT--Management
May 25, 2003
GB

Hi all , i'm no expert with PC hardware so am after some advice.

i have a adaptec 2610SA controller and want to build a biggerer betterer file server, i have been looking to buy some sata drives but since i last looked at the hdd market alot seems to have changed , i am hoping to get something like 3 x 320 gig drives or 5 x 160gigs stripe with parity

speed is not a key issue here just the ability to store my data with reseliance. are sata300 drive backwards compatable with the controller i have ? or is there a model / make of drive i should go for ? - please dont say IBM ok there not badged IBM anymore but there also not any better still !

any advice = super

many thanks
Terry

Generally a SATA 300 drive will work just fine on a SATA 150 controller. Many of them actually have jumpers to allow you to set whether they should operate as SATA 150 or SATA 300. I know for a fact that Western Digital drives do. I'm using a pair of WD2500KS SATA 300 drives on a SATA 150 controller.

The biggest difference between the drives that are listed as SATA 150 and SATA 300 are going to be support for extended SATA features like NCQ, etc.

i did read that they were backwards compatable on some 3rd party site , but thought i would check before i purchased aload of drives that are not going to work as required.

thanks i shall order some drives and get the project under way

Also, getting 2x500GB Drives would be cheaper than 3x320 or 5x160GB Drives... For a 500GB Drive, the Western Digital WD5000KS is great for the money (~£120).

3wsparky said: