Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Safe Mode or equivalent for NT 4.0?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ncfuzzy

IS-IT--Management
May 20, 2003
US
Hello. I'm new to the site. It looks like a good resource. I have no prior experience with NT 4.0 Server and come from a Novell/MS Server 2000 world prior. I inherited several MS NT 4.0 servers (running SP 6a) and one in particular was having problems with it's tape drive. I purchased the identical tape drive to replace the bad one and installed it. After rebooting with the new tape drive installed, I received a message that a service or driver failed during startup. Of course it was the driver for the tape drive (PfsTape). The OS couldn't see the new tape drive either even through control panel when I searched. I used the CD that came with the new tape drive to install the latest driver in hopes that it would be recognized. I updated the backup software while I was at it since it was recommended.

My problem now is that I get the blue screen of death when I log in at the console as anyone including admin and the dump screen tells me that it's the new driver called Pfs.sys. The server will run fine if no attempt is made to login at the console. I can even login as admin at any other station. But logging in at the console causes a crash every time. I've tried logging in with the last good configuration and VGA mode to no avail.

My question is this....I would like to start up the server in something equivalent to safe mode so that I can remove the new driver and uninstall the backup software upgrade which I think is causing the crash upon login at the console. Any suggestions on the best way to do that?