Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

sa user and sqluser

Status
Not open for further replies.

KATHY

MIS
Jul 16, 1999
US
I am new to SQL 2000. I am very familiar with AD and rights through AD. The mgr of the dept had me change the sa password on the SQL server - local user. It was null (no password). Now that I have done that, I am worried that this will affect some of the SQL processes. Will it? Where is sa used in SQL? Also I did not setup the SQL server and I am trying to check all admin rights since whomever set it up made about everyone an admin - there is an SQL User sqluser in AD that has admin and domain admin rights - is that a default user or just one that the vendor setup when he installed SQL?

Kathy,
Check your SQL Server's authentication mode by right-clicking it from SQL Enterprise Manager and clicking the security tab. If it's set to Windows authentication only, then the SA password is pretty much irrelevant because the only way processes and users can connect to SQL Server is via Windows Authentication - meaning they have to have a local or domain level windows account. For more information on the security modes, see SQL Server Books Online Topic Administering SQL Server > Managing Security. In fact, since you're new to SQL Server, Books online is the best place to start for the whys and howtos of SQL Server. In my opinion it is one of the better pieces of documentation I have ever read.