Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Routing Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

sjasmund

Programmer
Sep 19, 2002
US
Hello,

I need some direction in integrating a Cisco 1720 router for a T1 line into an existing network. I should say that I'm primarily a programmer but I do some (more lately) networking for my clients. I'm comfortable doing easier stuff but routing is a little over my head.

The company has an existing network, which utilizes static IP addresses that we cannot change. These addresses are 10.241.145.xxx/255.255.255.0

A T1 line was installed to use on the network and we would like to integrate it into the existing network. The router that was supplied for the T1 line is a Cisco 1720 with an IP address of 68.22.0.161/255.255.255.224. Available IP's for the router do not match (either IP or subnet) what we need in the existing network.

Using my notebook to test, if I configure it with an IP in the valid range for the router (68.22.0.162), I have no problems. Using an IP from the existing network obviously doesn't work since it's not withing the available range.

I plugged in an extra Linksys router I have and I could configure the WAN side of it but ran into problems since it only recognizes IP's within a specific range (192.168.1.x)on the LAN side. It's my understanding from the T1 provider that we cannot make changes to the Cisco router.

Can someone please give me a direction to go? I think I need a better router than the Linksys that will allow me to configure both the WAN side and the IP range for the LAN side. However, at this point, I'm just guessing.

Thanks,
Scott