Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Route to CCNA 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

CoolGuy077

Programmer
Oct 7, 2003
US
Hi,
I plan to take CCNA in coming Months. I have few question

1. Is it still OK to take 640-607 instead of the new exam.
2. Do I require to buy routers or is simulation lab enough to pass the exam.
3. How much time is required to prepare given the fact that I have basic networking knowledge & awareness about TCP/IP.
4. Which is better reference Sybex or Cisco Press.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank
CG

Hey CG,

1. No, I think you need the newer comp exam 640-801?? Or it can be taken as two seperate exams?
2. I think you can pass the CCNA with simulation labs, equipment would be helpful, but not necessary...if you want to continue on to CCNP then it would be a good idea to get your hands on a lab setup. You can always rent online racktime too.
3. If you have basic TCP/IP knowledge...including mastery of subnetting....I'd think that within a month or two you could be ready for the exam... all depends how much time you have to devote to study.
4. Personally I use the Cisco Press....in addition to Boson tests, they seem to work good for me. I've never used Sybex.

1) The 607 is no longer valid. You do have to take the 801, and as said above you can take 2 separate exams to cover the CCNA now.
2) Require no. Recommend absolutely. Not only will real equipment prepare you better for the exam, but you will learn the material better, instead of just lerning whats on an exam.
3) It depends of course, but you need to know subnetting in, out, and all about. Routr commands and subnetting make up about 80% of the exam.