Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

RichTextBox Disappears from Form

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeisch

MIS
May 30, 2003
US
I'm new to VB, and heve been asked to support an existing application. Two of our users has been using the application, then they started getting a compile error. They are using VBA 6.3. The error occurred when trying to refer to a RichTextBox that was supposed to be on a form, but the box is no longer on the form. I've replaced the application, but the box just disappears. This only happens on two out 30 PCs, and all should have the same image. I've verified that Richtx32.ocx is in the windows\system32 directory, is there anything else I can look at that might be causing this problem?

Some controls dont work if there is a different version of the OCX when the application was compiled is in Windows/System32.
EG. The RichTextBox that comes with W2000 is different to that in WIndows98.

This is very evident with the various versions of Shockwave Flash OCX as ther3e seems to be a new one each year.

This can happen of you just copy the exe file instead of using the a full applicatiom install package when updating the exe.

You either have to load VB6 in the offending computer and complien the exe again on that, or make all versions of the OCX the same in all computers.

Someone might have installed an old VB5 app on the offending machine and changed it Richtextbox OCX or DLL or whatever back to an older version.

Check the RichtextBoxs in System32 are all the same size.

>VBA 6.3

So we are talking about VBA rather than VB ... OK, this is probably caused - would you believe - by Internet Explorer security.