Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Returning a key value from a listbox

Status
Not open for further replies.

luckydata

Programmer
Sep 15, 2002
AU
Hi,
I am very new to Java Script and are desparate for advice. I am developing a large application in ASP.net using Visual Studio. The Users love selecting data from list boxes. In one instance I have successfully followed Tek-Tips faq 333-3656 "Linked list boxes without reloading the page", without forms submission. Its fast and works great. But I have two more to go.

The second one requires selecting a sentence and returning an integer, "SQLid" - the record id will be used in subsequent processing. The table requires three columns which I have called "DisplayGroup", "InstText" and "SqlID". Display group is displayed in the first text box and is the criterium on which the InstText is displayed in the second listbox. Using the terms of Visual Studio, InstText has to be the DataTextField and SqlID has to be the DataValue Field. But I want to do it on the client. I was not able to find any example of displaying text and returning a different value on the client. Is this possible? Can you point me in the right direction of an example.

My script does not work of course and I nead a few answers.
The resulting function sent to the client is 6.3k. Is there some limit to the size of a Java script function?
Is it practical to have an array of this size on the client? The size will be static.