Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Restore form given handle 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

bobbie100

Programmer
Aug 29, 2003
GB
I have the handle of another application's main form of a known type. I want to display that form in the foreground in the Default (Normal) condition. The current state of the form is either Minimized or Normal.

The best I have achieved is by using:
Code:
ShowWindow(FormHandle, SW_SHOWDEFAULT);
SetForegroundWindow(FormHandle);
The problem with this is that if the form starts in a minimised state it is displayed correctly, but the Minimize button does not seem to work.

I am not very good with the Win API. Can anybody help?

Bob

You could try SW_RESTORE flag with that ShowWindow function.

Unfortunately SW_RESTORE has the same effect!

Although the window is being displayed correctly, if you right click on the symbol in the task bar the Restore item is bold and Minimize is greyed out. It's as though windows hasn't realised the window is no longer minimized.

I am running Win XP if that matters. Any other ideas?

The reason could be that new foreground application doesn't receive a proper message from Windows thus it doesn't know that it's the active application.

You can try to send a WM_ACTIVATEAPP or WM_ACTIVATE message (which _should_ come from Windows).

Also you can try SetActiveWindow function instead of SetForeGroundWindow. Check the Win32API help for moree information about these. If you don't have the API reference yet the you can download it here:

SetActiveWindow doesn't do it and I'm not sure how to use WM_ACTIVATEAPP and WM_ACTIVATE (even after reading the Win32API help!).