Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Restore by Session Problems 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

bizzyb

Technical User
Jan 13, 2003
US
I am trying to restore a database by Session on a test server. However, with restore by session selected, the source shows the media but does not list any individual files. The details show there to be thousands of files, but they don't show up in the session. The backup log showed a successful backup. Do I have to merge the tape even though the session is recognized? The session has not been pruned.

I am using ARCserve 6.5 on W2K SP1. Some of the sessions on other tapes are fine, but some are like this. Any ideas? I am fairly new to ARCserve and any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Actually, to correct the above info, this server is running ARCserve 2000, not 6.5.
Thanks.

I found out that even though the ARCserve database Restore by Session info shows the session I am looking for, but without the file listing, it may still be manually merged from the tape. Having done that, it works fine and is restorable. Thanks.

Hi,

I think (please correct me if I'm wrong) but I think there is an option for the Verification level under the job options for "Scan Media Contents" or similar which might will help with this. Sorry but I am doing this from memory as I don't have access the ARCserve at the moment.

Kind regards,

Peeky