Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Restart Web site for database update/maintenance.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kelant

MIS
May 26, 1999
CA
The following question was posted in the ASP forum for awhile but did not get any response. Hope it can do better in this forum.<br>
<br>
I am using ASP in my Web site with Access databases. Occasionally, I need to refresh (restart) the site to reset some parameters as well as to update the databases. Will the Sub Application_OnEnd do the job? How can I force an "OnEnd"? In fact, do I need to refresh the site at all?<br>
I am new to the Web application development with databases. Is there some general rules of thumb to handle database updates/maintenance? <br>
Your comments are greatly appreciated.

I'm not well acquianted with MS Access being used with ASP, but I would think (do to my limited expertise in IDC) that refreshing the web site, and refreshing the database should be two differant functions, possible done on a scheduled basis (along with backing up, and such).

I'm not sure about the ASP end of this, but you might want to use a meta tag to stop caching of the page to make sure your visitors are seeing the most updated version instead of an older version that may be residing in their computer's internet cache; that's about all the help I can give on this one though.<br>
<br>
<br>
-Robherc<br>
robherc@netzero.net