Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Resize small image without losing quality

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBell99

Programmer
May 28, 2001
US
I am very new to PS, i have several pictures to use on my site....but they are in thumbnail size, i need these to be something like 800 x 600 wallpaper size images, but when i do that...well the images turns out looking really bad. I know that there has to be a way to get this to work. I need those images that are like 1.5 inches x 2.3 inches to be up to 800 x 600 pixels, but without losing any(or very little) quality. If there is an easier way to do it without PS..let me know

JBell99,
Sorry if this isn't very good news, but this is pretty much a fact of life with raster(bitmap) graphics. Because they are made of pixels, once you set the number of pixels per inch, you've locked in the size of your building blocks/pixels. So if you increase the size of the photo, you increase the size of the building blocks, thus making them more visible. A couple of things to check: Under Image - Image Size, check the ppi/dpi. It only needs to be 72 for viewing through a monitor, like on a website. If it's greater, you have a balance you can play with by adjusting those numbers. You want the physical size to increase as you decrease the dpi setting. Other than that, you can adjust the photos at the larger size with some of the noise filters, but this usually replaces the poor quality by making it blurry.

Wish I had better news (maybe someone else will have a better idea or work-around),

nhughes