Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Require Simple Example App

Status
Not open for further replies.

darling

Programmer
Oct 25, 2001
GB
Hello

I am an Access VBA programmer who has seen the light and I'm switching over to VB6. I have just finished a VB training course and want to start to develop some apps.

I like the idea of COM and using classes and understand the example we were shown. I can also get to grips with creating data connections to SQL databases.

My trouble is that as I'm so used to Access, I want to re-create an app I have already finished but in VB. It is a simple sales database with company information and each company can have many contacts. I need a little pointer to any URL's, white papers, code samples, downloads or whatever which can show me some good data controls.

I need to display company information and the related contacts underneath (used to use subforms in Access) so I can add, delete, amend and search contacts and companies. It is the code to add a record, delete a record, etc via a data container and preferably using classes that I could use the most. The idea I had was to have a contact class which could have method's such as "addnew" and "delete".

If anyone could point me in the direction of some useful help, I would be so happy.

Thanks in advance
Nora