Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Report Location to Sql Server 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

RohanP

Programmer
Mar 6, 2002
IN
In this example the location property of the DatabaseTable Object for each table in Report is set to MDB File.
For Each crxDatabaseTable In Report.Database.Tables
crxDatabaseTable.Location = App.Path & "\xtreme. mdb"
Next crxDatabaseTable
I want to set the location to different Database residing on Sql Server. What Value should I assign to Location Property for it?

The Report is designed with DB1, DB2 contains same tables & relationships. I want to open the report using DB2's Tables. Is it the right way I am going abt?

I am new to RDC pls help.. ______________________________
- Regards Rohan (India,Mumbai)

You may try this:

' you might not need the first line of code with LogOnServer
Report.Database.LogOnServer "pdssql.dll", "DB2ServerName", "DB2DatabaseName", "DB2UserName", "DB2Password"
crxDatabaseTable.SetLogOnInfo "DB2ServerName", "DB2DatabaseName", "DB2UserName", "DB2Password"
Next crxDatabaseTable

I have tried this

Report.Database.LogOnServer "pdssql.dll", "Rohan", "Exports1", "sa"

'Use a For Each loop to change the location of each
'DatabaseTable in the Reports DatabaseTable Collection
crxDatabaseTable.SetLogOnInfo "Rohan", "Exports1", "sa"
Next crxDatabaseTable

But it is not changing the database I have set while making the report in Report Designer.

I even tried
crxApplication.LogOnServer "pdssql.dll", "Rohan", "Exports1", "sa"

but nothing is helping me out.
I think I will lose this project :( if i am not able to change the db location, pls help