Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Report - Edit Selection Formula - Group: formula disappears!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Baggers2003

Programmer
Oct 15, 2003
GB
HI all,

I am pretty new to this, so apologies if this is a silly question, but I Have entered the following into the Report - Edit Selection Formula - Group formula window:

NOT IsNull(Sum ({D020FIG_LY.STERL01}, {CTPATMS.PTCATG}))OR
NOT IsNull(Sum ({D020FIG_TM.STERL01}, {CTPATMS.PTCATG})) OR
NOT IsNull(Sum ({D020FIG_TY.STERL01}, {CTPATMS.PTCATG})) OR
NOT IsNull(Sum ({D020FIG_LM_1.STERL01}, {CTPATMS.PTCATG}))

However, although the equation was OK, it produced a result I did not want, but when I went back to change it - it was gone! Also, if I right click on "Group #2 Name" in the design view (this being the group that the above sum() refers to) and choose the Select expert for any of the fields in the formula above - there is nothing there either.

How do I edit Group selection formula? Surely there's a way? Does anyone know?

Cheers,
Steve

Do not use that window. Instead, create a regular CR formula and group by it. Then you will be able edit grouping logic by editing the formula.

you cannot use a formula containing summary functions (eg. Sum) as a grouping formula

Jim Broadbent

The quality of the answer is directly proportional to the quality of the problem statement!

Hi,