Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Replacement for Procomm Plus

Status
Not open for further replies.

wabob

IS-IT--Management
Sep 21, 2004
US
Hello. I am an administrator for three Siemens Hicom 300E PBXs. I do almost all my programming tasks using LC-Win, but there are a few functions which need to be done with Procomm Plus. Procomm Plus works well, except one problem. It won't work on Windows XP Service Pack 2, and my company wants me to get rid of my old Windows NT 4.0 machine that has it.

Is there a viable replacement for Procomm Plus that will work on Windows XP Pro? I am able to log in to the PBXs using Hyperterminal, but my keyboard mapping doesn't work right.

I also tried a free download of FileLink, which also allowed me to log in, but again the keyboard mapping was an issue.

wabob... i have windows xp service pack 2 on my computer
with procomm plus works great what do mean it will not work
with xp service pack 2 i have no issue what so ever.

hope this helps

strmwalker

I think I found what is wrong. The version of Procomm Plus I have is ancient. I have been told by someone else that the most recent version (Procomm Plus 4.8) does work with Windows XP sp2.

Thanks for confirming what I heard. Hopefully I can persuade my employer to purchase the 4.8 version.

"Those who do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it".
George Santayana