Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Removing HTML tags 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrblonde100

Technical User
Nov 22, 2009
GB
Hi all,
I hope you can help me; I’m very new to PHP but managed to pick up a fair bit over the past couple of weeks. Although I have come across a problem that I can’t seem to resolve.

I'm trying to extract some specific data from my MYSQL database using PHP, and then feed it into Flash. The Flash content then dynamically updates its text fields depending on the content of the MYSQL database.

It has taken me days to get this far and I’m finally there. Although a new problem has stumped me. The Flash is replicating the MYSQL perfectly, but including the HTML tags from within the record. These tags are being passed by the PHP.

I need the tags to remain within the original database record, as they format HTML content on other pages within the site, so removing them at source is not an option. The tags are the <p> and </p> content tags.
I’m trying to strip them out during the PHP process before the content is picked up by Flash.

I have tried strip_tags() but can’t seem to get it to work properly. Adding this function and running it on the QUERY string causes the echo function to break. I may have it in the wrong place.

I think I’m nearly there but just can’t figure it out.
I have pasted my code below, this code is working perfectly and assigning a variable to each of my extracted elements which is then assigned to Flash. The $intro variable/query is the variable that contains the tags.

The content that is being extracted is in this example format: