Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Remove backgrounds to make clip art out of photo 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

flphoto

Technical User
Oct 9, 2007
I have a CNC plasma cutting machine that uses DXF files for the CAD program that came with it. I was told that I could download a photo into Corel Draw 12 and make it into a vector file, save it as a BMP or PNG file and turn it into a DXF file for cutting. During this process I could drop out all background and make the subject into a sillouette form. As a professional photographer I have used Photoshop for years but Corel Draw is all new. I purposely got Corel Draw 12 because I was told that the new X3 would not do what I needed to do. I have the Official Guide to Draw 12 but have no idea what to look for or where to start looking. Can someone please advise?

To experiment, look for "CorelTrace" which is what the vector tracing program was called in version 11.

However, I don't believe you will be able to do that satisfactorily, with any program, because a photograph is a continuous tone image and can only be approximated by vector objects. A scanned image of a line drawing (kids cartoon, etc) might work but it would have to be pretty simple -- solid outlines, filled only with colours of uniform tints etc -- and it would have to be scanned from the original drawing not from a halftone representation such as a book or newspaper.