Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Remote Desktop 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Netomaniac

Technical User
Jun 8, 2006
US
Hi,

I am a novice in the field of networking. I don't know what I am asking is a stupid question or not. I would like to do remote desktop to one of my freinds PC. But the problem is he doesn't have a Static IP address. His PC is connected to a router as mine and in this case the IP addressess assigend is only internal to router.

When we wanted to do remote desktop using Windows netmeeting, it was asking for the Romete IP address, but we could not give one because it was not a routable IP address (it is internal IP address assigned by the router). Is there any way around it. Can we still do remote desktop. Or we will have to ask the ISP to provide us with the static IP address.

Thanks and regards,

Give your computer a static IP instead of obtain. You can get the DNS numbers out of your router from the status page. Set up the router to port forward to that IP address. You don't need a static IP for the router. You can go to a website such as IPChicken.com or Whatismyip.com, and they will return the current IP you are connected to the internet through to use for remote access.
If your router\gateway is 192.168.1.254 then give your computer a static IP 192.168.1.10, just change the last number and setup the DNS and you will be ready. (you may need to disable the windows firewall, not sure)

Bo

Kentucky phone support-
"Mash the Kentrol key and hit scape."

Thanks for the info, but I am on a wireless LAN, if I do port forwarding to the DNS IP will that have any effect on other people who are using the WLAN.

Thanks and Regards,

Hi Dtsman,