Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Remote access for Access DB?

Status
Not open for further replies.

beachcomber

IS-IT--Management
Jun 28, 2002
US
Hi,

I'm relatively new to remote access issues. I'm
more familiar with programming. So, I could
really use someone to help point me in the right
direction here. We have an Access program
that will be used by several remote users. We
would like the remote users to all share the
same database for the program (we would like the
database to be on a main server accessible by the
remote users).

Can anyone point me in the right direction for
how to solve this problem? Would putting the Access
database on a server and setting up a VPN
to the server be the way to handle this?
Can the remote users simply set up an ODBC connection
to the remote server with the database?
Any advice, suggestions?

Thanks for any help.

Beachcomber

I don't know if this is what you are looking for, but could you use the database splitter and put the back end on the server and the front ends on each user's computer?

Hi,

Thanks for your response. Yes, this is basically what I'm
looking to do. I guess my question is though, how will
the users who will be working on remote pcs (mostly from their homes) be able to access the database on the server which will be in our office.

Thanks,
Beachcomber

hmmm...this is something that i've been looking into as well...i'm trying to learn data access pages or asp so that i can put a few databases online. i'm not having much luck with the learning process.