Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Regular query with data from a cube. How? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBugSlayer

Programmer
Sep 22, 2002
US
Hi. I always wanted to get into BI, so I studied a bit (a lot actually) but never got a chance to practice. Now that I have forgotten 90% of what I learnt I suddenly asked to produce a report...fine so far..then I found out some of the data in my resultset comes from a dimension...can' t even say it properly.

So my question is, what is the best way to join BI data to a regular query? What is the best way to go about this: export data from BI to a table then join to that table, join straight from the regular query to the dimension? I am lost. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

MCP SQL Server 2000, MCTS SQL Server 2005, MCTS SQL Server 2008 (DBD, DBA)

Are you saying some of the data is in SQL Server Analysis Services, and some of the data is in the SQL Server relational database?

Well, depending on the situation, the best approach might be to model the SQL data and add it to the OLAP database. Then you just write an MDX query for the whole thing.

But if you really must join the two sources together, you can look at a linked server/openquery. Most MDX queries are fast, so if you execute an MDX string against SSAS from within SQL Server, you can drop the results into a temporary table or table variable and then join that in SQL.

Hi RiverGuy. Thanks for your prompt response.