Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

[Regular Expressions] Limit The Search 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dalie

Programmer
Feb 16, 2009
NL
I use the following script to find folders with a specific name on my PC. However this script searches the whole computer every time. I am quite new to regular expressions. I'd like to modify the script in a way it limits the search to a folder, lets say: c:\temp

I understand the code except the bold lines, maybe someone could explain these lines in plain language... and point me in the direction for finding the solution.
Code:
Set objRegEx = CreateObject("VBScript.RegExp")

objRegEx.Global = True   
objRegEx.IgnoreCase = True
objRegEx.Pattern = "ABCD"
[b]
strComputer = "." 
Set objWMIService = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" & strComputer & "\root\cimv2")
Set colFolders = objWMIService.ExecQuery("Select * From Win32_Directory")
[/b]
For Each objFolder in colFolders
    strFolder = objFolder.FileName
    Set colMatches = objRegEx.Execute(strFolder)

If colMatches.Count > 0 Then
        Wscript.Echo objFolder.Name 
    End If
Next

Select * from Win32_Directory where name = 'c:\\temp'

Thanks but as soon as I enter your line of code the script doesn't show any results... (I created the folder c:\temp with several folders which contains names abcd). Without the line it does show these folders I created...

strongm, I always thought that the syntax you provided would just return the C:\Temp folder?

Dalie - How about something like:
Code:
Set colFolders = objWMIService.ExecQuery("Select * From Win32_Directory where path = '\\temp\\' and drive = 'C:'")
Hope this helps

HarleyQuinn
---------------------------------