Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

regex question

Status
Not open for further replies.

carlgomerski

Programmer
Jan 20, 2001
AU
Hi,

I'm very new to regex and I'm trying to cleanup a string (which is xml) being passed into a web service. The string/xml's getting extra '/' values added. Via a regex replace I'm trying to change:

<?xml version=\"1.0\" encoding=\"UTF-8\"?>
to:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

I'm using '@"<?xml version=\""1.0\"" encoding=\""UTF-8\""\?>"' which seems to find the value? For the life of me I can't figure out the regex expression in the replace?

If all you want to do is remove the "\" character, then use String.Replace - RegEx is overkill.

Hope this helps.

[vampire][bat]

Let us suppose for a mad minute that you did actually want to do this with a Regular Expression, the match you want is @"\\" and the replace would be an empty string. Like this:

Code:
string result = Regex.Replace(testString, @"\\", "");

But as earthandfire said this will be so much faster if you use String.Replace as it won't have to load the whole Regex engine into memory.

Code:
string result = testString.Replace( @"\", "" );

The string/xml's getting extra '/' values added
Rather than stripping out the unwanted characters, can't you fix the code that's putting them in there in the first place? It looks like the original string is being incorrectly escaped when it is set up...

Steve

[small]"Every program can be reduced by one instruction, and every program has at least one bug. Therefore, any program can be reduced to one instruction which doesn't work." (Object::perlDesignPatterns)[/small]

New to C# and Regex so bare with me...