Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Referencing Dynamic XML elements in my Business Rules

Status
Not open for further replies.

blondebier

Programmer
Jun 19, 2003
GB
Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to the Business Rules functionality in BizTalk Server 2006 R2 and I have hit a bit of a problem...

Referencing XML in Biz talk is a breeze if you have an XSD. You simply pick off the elements you want and evaluate them using predicate operators.

What happens though if you have an XSD, but it has some elements that aren't defined it?

e.g. <?xml version="1.0" standalone="yes" ?>
<xsd:schema targetNamespace=" xmlns:xsd=" xmlns:business=" elementFormDefault="qualified">
<xsd:element name="CustomDataSet" type="business:ty_custom_xml" minOccurs="0" maxOccurs="1" />
<xsd:complexType name="ty_custom_xml">
<xsd:sequence>
<xsd:any namespace="##any" processContents="skip" maxOccurs="unbounded" />
</xsd:sequence>
</xsd:complexType>
</xsd:schema>

The XML document that this relates to would look something like :

<CustomDataSet xmlns=" <SomeInfo>AK234</SomeInfo>
<SomethingElse>125.00</SomethingElse>
<SomethingDerived>16982</SomethingDerived>
</CustomDataSet>

As I don't know what custom data will appear in here I cannot / don't really want to write these into my XSD what do I do ...?

A custom bit of code I thought...

i.e. Create a function in a .net class and add a reference to it in the Vocabulary that I could call from within a rule policy.

Here's my attempt :

Imports System
Imports System.Xml
Imports Microsoft.RuleEngine

Namespace MyNameSpace

Public Class MyRulesInterface