Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

records comparison

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 13, 2007
US
Hi, I am pretty new to crystal report and I having difficulities getting started. Please see the table listed below.
I have a table contains all the historical data and I need to create a report which will show when the "type" column was modified each time between the most recent "date" and the previous date (4/05/07 and 4/13/07). For example, Type was changed from "NAN" to "NSN" between 4/05/07 and 4/13/07. I am thinking I can use subquery to produce this report but I am not sure how to start this. Does anybody know what are the best way to do this in crystal?? I am connecting to a oracle database and using crystal report version 10.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

thanks

acct# inv# type date

ZX512 a255 CNN 11/16/2006
ZX512 a255 NSN 1/4/2007
ZX512 a255 NAN 4/5/2007
ZX512 a255 NSN 4/13/2007

Please do not crosspost--you now have the same thread in three different forums.

-LB

lbass
I just joined yesterday and I am very sorry, I won't do that next time. Do you have any suggestions on how I can do this report?? thanks always

Well, to get the most recent date, you can create a summary, maximum field. That would give you the most recent date. I am not sure about the one record before that though...

thanks for the suggestions. I have tried using max but couldn't get the results i want. I have diffculites working on this report and can't think of any ways to do this.

First insert a group on acct and on inv#. To display only those two most recent records where the type is different, go to report->selection formula->GROUP and enter: