Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Recommendations for UPS/PDU system

Status
Not open for further replies.

astaylor

MIS
Mar 14, 2007
US
I am new to power management and i hope that someone here can help me. I am ordering about 15 new servers which are all a mix of 120V and 208V. I would like to be able to make use of a PDU so that i can physically power on and power off systems remotely if need be. We also need to make use of a UPS so that we can have the systems up for at least 2 minutes until our generator kicks on. Is it as simple as plugging the PDU's into the UPS and managing the systems that way? Or is there a UPS system out there that can handle all of this, either hardware or software based, so that i dont have to buy a PDU as well. Also all of the servers have dual power supplies and i would like to plug these into a different UPS as well for redundancy. Any suggestions are welcome.

-drew