Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Recent MBA grad/Career Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

sa113

IS-IT--Management
Nov 20, 2003
US
Hello,

I am a HRIS (Human Resources Information Systems) Manager for a mid-sized bank. I have been working here for 8 years and have turned the department around with technology and outsourcing solutions. Working here has tought me a lot about managing technology however we use simpler solutions and outsourcing options. Because of this I have not been exposed to ERPs like Peoplsoft, SAP, or JD Edwards. This is limiting my options for a career in consulting.

I am getting my MBA in Technology Management in February and I'm not sure what direction to take with my career. I would eventually love to become a consultant. I am best with problem-solving and leveraging technology however all of these consulting firms want ERP experience.

My choices are:

1) Becoming a business systems analyst with my current company. This will give me more consulting experience but no exposre to ERP.

2) Explore other larger and global organizations for a HRIS position and gain experience in ERP's before moving to consulting.

Any advice?

Hi,

My advice would be to get some programming experience under your belt.

If you can program, and get good enough at it, then the ERP experience will come. (PROMISE!)

Hope this helps,
Noble

---------------------------------------
Noble D. Bell

One of the things you can do is look inside your company and see what low-level ERP opportunities are.

I've found that many of the higher-end companies like SAP, PeopleSoft and oracle are developing products for a small-medium business market.