Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Receive Msg "Permission Denied" 800A0046

Status
Not open for further replies.

samyiel

MIS
Mar 14, 2003
US
First off, I am still fairly new to VBscript and am seeking help.

I think I have seen some nfo on this forum before, but couldn't find it again. No matter what I try, I always receive "Permission Denied" on the last line of my script when attempting to deleting a file. I checked Microsoft's site, but none of the fixes worked and most deal with ASP. The script is running under an admin account on the server (Win 2000) and the permissions on the files are default, nothing special. This seems like it should be sooooo simple and it's driving me crazy!! Here is an example of my code - thanks in advance for any information provided.

Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
objFSO.DeleteFile("E:\Folder\subfolder\*.unv")
objFSO.DeleteFile("E:\Folder2\subfolder\*.rep")

In this example, I would reveive the error message "800A0046" on line "3."

samyiel:

What is the permission of the IUSR_"computername" on the above mentioned folders. This might or might not be the problem.

Thanks,
[yinyang]
Patrick

I will try this out and let you know. Thanks for the repsonse - hope it works.

You have to be careful, the MS documentation isn't perfect.

For one thing:
Code:
objFSO.DeleteFile("E:\Folder\subfolder\*.unv")
Is incorrect. They make this mistake in many places in the documentation, probably because:

A. The guy wrote wrote it was a C or a Javascript person.

B. It never got caught because you'll get away with it sometimes.

The correct statement looks like:
Code:
objFSO.DeleteFile "E:\Folder\subfolder\*.unv"