Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Reboot AS400 without terminal

Status
Not open for further replies.

kpetree10

IS-IT--Management
Jun 15, 2007
US
First off I just want to say I'm an AS/OS 400 novice, we only have it for legacy information so bare with me if I don't understand.

The problem we're having is that at random the server will stop allowing clients to connect using the iSeries emulator. I can see the server in the iSeries navigator and can bring up information on it. Also if you plug in a twinax terminal it will connect but that is where my problem is... I've always been able to fix the client issue by rebooting the server but our only terminal died so I have no way to get into the system now. Is there anyway to reboot the system elsewhere like on the front panel? Does anyone know why it's randomly not allowing emulation clients to connect?

Thanks in advance!

if you can connect via emulation,, then sign on as system security officer, and do a reboot from there.. Why does this not work???

I can't connect via emulation, that's where the problem enlies. When you open the connection the status bar says "connection successfully started" but the menus/login doesn't appear.

setup a new connection,, be a different terminal ID.
See if that lets you in.

so you have no one that is connected to the AS400,, so it is not being used by anyone is that correct??

Yes, that's true. No one is connected to, or using it.

Well hell,, there is a way to ipl from the front panel, but I cannot remember,, never did it that much.. Anyone have the answer???