Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Reading MS Access from Visual C++

Status
Not open for further replies.

phadobas

Technical User
Jul 30, 2005
US
I'm trying to write a very simple program that requires reading some data from MS Access. I'm doing it in Visual Studio C++. Essentially what I need to create is a console application doing this:

cout "Dear customer, please enter your account number";
get account number
Some code that reads the balance from an MS Access table based on the entered account number
cout "your balance is" + balance + ". Bye";

For the life of me, I can't get the middle part figured out. I'm new to c++ but all other parts of the program are working.
I can go to Server Explorer, and add a connection to the MS Access database. I can see the tables, I can see the data in the tables.
But how do I write some code that gets data from MS Access?

I've found many example codes elsewhere, and one for one, they fail with some missing external link or reference, or undefined variables, and those errors are all way over my head.

I can't find some book or tutorial that walks me through, as a beginner, from knowing almost nothing, to the point of being able to do the above.

Can anyone help with this?

Easiest way is to use ODBC.

For the connection string, Start => Windows Administrative Tools => ODBC Data Source (either 32 or 64 bit, depending on what you are using). Click on the Drivers tab. There will be a while bunch of names (some in Spanish). Look for the one with Microsoft Access Driver.

You could also have a look at MS Access Code Example