Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

reading a text file and using openFileDialog 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

spizotfl

MIS
Aug 17, 2005
US
hi, i am very new to vb. i get basic syntax and the like...
what i am trying to do:
we upload text files to a state agency. any records in the file that contain errors bounce back to us in a text file with the error code at the end of the file. the error file is not delimited in any way, it is just fixed width. i have managed to hack together something using many of the various msdn help and samples that will allow me to hardcode the filename of the source and destination. this runs pretty much as a quicky console app with almost no user input. i am trying to make a form that will allow the user to select what type of error file it is (eventually we will deal with 6-8 different types), probably by using an option group with radio buttons, and the openFileDialog to browse to the location of the error file.
now the problem: in the console you can use StreamReader and StreamWriter to easily do the basics of pulling the info from the textfile, but with the openFileDialog, VB Express says I need a Stream, not a StreamReader to work with it. How do I do this??
This is what i have for the "console" version.
Code:
Imports System
Imports System.IO
Imports Microsoft.VisualBasic.Strings

Class Test
	Public Shared Sub Main()
        Try
            ' Create an instance of StreamReader to read from a file.
            Dim sr As StreamReader = New StreamReader("C:\qryDemographic_1-27-06 412.txt")
            Dim sw As StreamWriter = New StreamWriter("C:\ErrorFile.txt")
            Dim line As String
            Dim column1 As String