Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Read .doc files and write in html files?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cherphas

Programmer
Jun 5, 2002
CA
Is there a way to read a .doc file, which has rich text format, and write the content in an html file? I have tried to read a .txt file and wrote the content in html with this code.

<CFFILE ACTION=&quot;Read&quot;
FILE=&quot;C:\CFusionMX\ VARIABLE=&quot;Message&quot;>

<CFOUTPUT>#Message#</CFOUTPUT>

It works but it didn't detect line breaks, paragraphs. Everything was one bit block of text. Is there a way to detect the a line breaks and add <br> tags or even detect bolded types and add <b></b> to that text? I'm new to Coldfusion by the way. The reason i'm asking is I have to do a site for a client. They don't do html stuff so if they had the updates of the sites content in a .doc file, they would just have to put the file in a folder and it would update itself. I don't see any way of doing this but I'm just asking to make sure. Do any of you have any suggestions to have my clients update the site without using Dreamweaver or knowing HTML?

Thanks,
Joël

Ok, I now have this code:

<CFFILE ACTION=&quot;Read&quot; FILE=&quot;C:\CFusionMX\ VARIABLE=&quot;Message&quot;>

<CFLOOP List=&quot;#message#&quot; Index=&quot;rc&quot; Delimiters=&quot;#Chr(10)#&quot;>
<CFOUTPUT>
#rc#<BR>
</CFOUTPUT>
</CFLOOP>

this add the line breaks. but I haven't a clue how to dislay bolded text or alignent.

A .txt file is a simple ASCII text format. I doesn't understand bolds or alignment, nor would we want it to.