Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Re : tar command - AIX 4.3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guest_imported

Jan 1, 1970
Hi ! everybody<br><br>I'm new in Unix and I wanted to know on how to do a backup using tar command. For your information, I have a directory which it store a lot of files. But I wanted to backup certain files only whish is total about hundred files. <br>Currently I'm using the below command but it seem not pratical for use it. <br>$ tar -cvf /dev/rmt0 file1 file2 ... .. <br><br>Please help me on this matter<br><br>Thank you in advance<br><br>Liros<br>

make sure you're using the korn shell, first line in script should be '#!/usr/bin/ksh'<br><br>put your filenames in a file (files_bu.list say), one filename per line, and run this command:<br><br>tar -cvf /dev/rmt0 $(cat files_bu.list)<br> <p>Mike<br><a href=mailto:michael.j.lacey@ntlworld.com>michael.j.lacey@ntlworld.com</a><br><a href= Cargill's Corporate Web Site</a><br>

Or you can use find with some criteria.<br><br>tar -cvf /dev/rmt0 $(find . -something_what_selects_your_files )