Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Re-size Pie Charts dynamically

Status
Not open for further replies.

partymong

Programmer
Nov 5, 2003
GB
Hi All,
I am fairly new to reporting services.

I want to create a report, whereby there are 9 pie charts which would need to dynamically vary in size dependant on the number of records returned for each pie chart data. (i.e. the pie charts size would need to be proportionate to the total number records for all pie chart data)

Is there a way I can re-size the charts dynamically?

Would I have to generate the rdl file with the pie charts size each time I would like to generate a report.

Thankyou in advance for your help.

Regards,

P

Are you wanting to resize the chart object itself or the size of the pie within the chart ?

Rgds, Geoff

We could learn a lot from crayons. Some are sharp, some are pretty and some are dull. Some have weird names and all are different colours but they all live in the same box.

Please read FAQ222-2244 before you ask a question

Geoff,
I want to resize the entire chart objects.
Example:

Say I have some data with a "priority" field and a Status "Field"

Say each of the 9 pie charts show status data for a particular priority.

I want to change the size of each pie chart to show the amount (or impact) that priority has on the total of all the priority data.

Is this possible?

Thanks,

Regards,

P

the sizing (as well as many other properties in RS) can be set as the result of code or an expression. You will need to decide how the priority affects the size of the charts but as an example, you could have the width of the chart set to

=Fields!Priority.Value * Fields!Priority.Value