Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Re-installation of Windows fails with *some* disks ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

vodkasoda

Programmer
May 6, 2003
OK, this is strange, but hopefully makes sense to somebody !

I have been running Windows Vista on my PC for a few years now, with no *real* problems. I have had a BSOD occassionally since my last rebuild, always due to a Bugcode-USB type error message but could never track down the culprit, and due to a recent SQL Server uninstall problem, I decided another re-install would be appropriate.

I reinstalled from my Vista disk & did a few Windows Updates, but every reboot was giving me the choice of 2 versions of Vista, so I used Easy BCD to delete the "old version of Vista" line & rebooted. Unfortunately, I then got an error regarding Winload.exe being corrupt. I played around with BOOTCFG using Fixmbr, fixboot & rebuildmbr options and also BCDedit and eventually got Windows back. I did another WU, rebooted and had the Winload error again !!!

I decided to re-install from scratch, did so, got much further then before (no more WU downloads) and then when updating USB drivers, I got another Winload error, which this time I could not get past.

At this point, I must point out that I was having DVD problems in that the drawer would not stay shut until I had reloaded the disk anywhere between 3 & 20 times, so I guess that was on it's way out anyway !!!