Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Random Code Generator 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dpye

Technical User
Mar 24, 2003
CA
Here's my dilemma....

I'm looking for a way to build in a random code generator that I can embed into a form and have the result stored in the table the form is based on. If the code could use part of the date and/or username in the generated code that would be even better.

I'm not a programmer and this may be something really simple for a programmer to whip up. I hoping that perhaps there is pre existing sample code or an FAQ that I could use and incorporate.

I'm not opposed to coding this myself, I'm just not that experienced coding. Perhaps someone can get me started on how to code this.

Any help would be appreciated. For the time being I'm using a random code generator downloaded from the net and copying/pasting the generated code in the field.

Thanks.

I'm not really clear about what you want to do, but you could create a random number using the current date by putting something like the following as the Control source of a text box

=Format(Date(),"yymmdd") & Rnd(100000)

Simon Rouse

Thanks, I'll give that a shot.

I'll try and clarify what I want to do......

I have a form that records information pertaining to incoming calls, some of that information will be a case#. Basically, it's a tier1 agent calling tier2 agent for advice on a case.