Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Ramfind 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

bloaty

Technical User
Mar 30, 2006
GB
Hello Newbie here,
To all you Assembly Guru's out there PLEASE HELP!
Explanation:
looking to create a ramsniffer that will detect how much ram any given pc has, why! Well I want to make a bolt on routine to XMSDSK.EXE (RAMDISK Maker)that will find out how much ram you have on your pc, pipe this info into a .txt file, then use a small DOS calc todo 0.75x%variable%, then as a calculated variable %xxxxxxx% place this info into a batch file to auto create a ramdisk that is say 70% of the system ram of a Pc (with a built in safety guard of say no less than 16388-16mb's). This would need to be undertaken in dos7.1 with Himem.sys loaded. E.g. path\XMSDSK.EXE [%Variablesize%] r: /t /C1 /y

I found a routine called biosmem.asm which can be found at that uses bios calls in 3 stages to identify the ramsize. I then used a program called NASM (DOS)with the folowing code [NASM -f bin -o biosmem.com biosmem.asm] "Without brackets" to compile it into a .com file called biosmem.com. It displays the following text upon running:
memory ranges:
base=0x0, size=0x9FC00
base=0x100000, size=0x7EF0000
What I need is this progey to list only the ramsize in in Kb's. I was wondering if someone with Assembly knowledge would be able to adapt the biosmem.asm file to display only the ramsize with no text at all just the size in decimal numbers NOT Hex as I have no absolutely no idea at all in coding ASM otherwise I would try do it myself.

Regards,

Bloaty

then use a small DOS calc todo 0.75x%variable%

do you mean a manual calculation? or something within a batch file?

Hi denc4,