Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

RAID performance question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cpjust

Programmer
Sep 23, 2003
US
Hi,
I'm not an IT guy, I'm just a developer, so my knowledge of RAID is pretty limited.

I was thinking of setting up 2 SATA 3.0 Gbps drives in a RAID 1 on my home PC (Win XP Home). I originally wanted to try RAID 5 or 10, but scaled back for now.

I've seen sites that give you general speed descriptions like Low, Med, High... but I'd like a little more specific answer. As I understand (or imagine?), if I have 2 drives in a RAID 1, the Write performance should be the same as a single drive (since it has to write the same thing to both drives); but as for Read performance, it should be double the performance of a single drive since it can read two different files (1 on each drive) at the same time? Is that a correct assumption or does a RAID 1 have to read the same thing from both drives to verify neither drive has become corrupt?

I know a RAID 0 is best for performance, but I want security also, since I'm not a big fan of doing backups...

cpjust

Here is a great guide to RAID levels and their basic concepts, features and read/write speed comparisons.:

Yes, RAID 1 offers faster seek times and is quite resilient. I bad a RAID 5 go down and turned it into RAID 1 (redundancy does not take the place of backups) and the overall speed increased. Here's a no-brainer that I learned the hard way: If your RAID 1 array degrades, do not try and rebuild with the orphaned drive. Replace it.