Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

RAID catastrophe (hypothetical) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

joed2k

Technical User
Apr 13, 2004
US
Sorry for the length here, but I know you need details to help...
I'm somewhat new to the whole IBM Server thang, but I'm jumping in with both feet and have come up with a possible problem, but no solution yet. Maybe I'm missing something, but I haven't found a way around this scenario without losing data, which is exactly what we don't want to do.
Please read this over and comment, if possible.

Let's say I'm using a ServeRAID-4H (2 internal, 4 external). I'm using channel 2 internal to control the box, which leaves channel 2 external unavailable. Let's also say I'm then using channel 1 external to control half of a EXP300 and channel 3 external to control the other half of the EXP300. That obviously leaves channel 4 external available.
There are 6 HDD's in the EXP300, 3 connected to the 4H channel 1 and 3 to channel 3. All 6 drives are part of a single 5E array, one logical drive. Data is stored on this logical drive. OS is Win2K, ServeRAID 6.11.

Therefore, the array will show 1 logical drive with 3 physical drives on channel 1 and 3 physical drives on channel 3.
If channel 1 of the 4H was to take a dump (theoretically), the 3 drives on that channel would become defunct, correct?
Also, both the logical drive and the array would be inaccessible.
Since part of the definition of the array is 3 physical drives from channel 1, and channel 1 is dead in the water, how would the data be recovered?

Is there a way to switch over to the available, functioning channel 4 and change the array definition, and still be able to recover the data?