Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

RAID 5 Rebuild Failure

Status
Not open for further replies.

OHERHEAD

Technical User
Sep 10, 2007
US
I am a novice admin, and have inherated a Power Edge 2650 with a PERC 3/Di Controller
I have just replaced a hot swappable with same size\MFG HD after rebooting I got a message PERC3/Di Controller 0, Virtual Disk (virtual Disk1) rebuild failed..

What could be the problem\s

If the disk was purchased as a refurb or recert, likely the disk failed in someone else's raid, then you purchased it. Only buy new drives for raid. Recert or refurb testing is not sufficient for raid drives

Same size? if the replacement drive has a capacity of even .1 gig less then the present drives it will not work, verify the exact size.

Chernobyl disaster..a must see pictorial

This was a new drive and it is slightly larger.
The size of the 4 discs are 33.92 Gig Brand New(not refurbished) size is 34.43 Gig.
Would this make a difference?
I replaced the new disc with another New disc and same results.

I've had that happen before. Usually all it takes is to go into the Array manager utility and set the new drive as a Global hot spare. It should kick off the rebuild inside of 30 seconds or so.

This should have worked...

Is the firmware on the raid card at the newest level?

"The size of the 4 discs are 33.92 Gig Brand New(not refurbished) size is 34.43 Gig."
This should not be an issue.

If the replacement disk is the EXACT make and model as the original array set, and the replacement disk has the same firmware revision, and the raid card firmware is up to date....