Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Raid 0 Hard drive Error

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bromon

Technical User
Nov 6, 2011
CA
Hey Everyone,

I've been running the same hard drives on my computer for about 4 years now (upgrading everything but them along the way). They've been in RAID 0 for the whole time (2 x Maxtor 200GB), and I've been extremely happy with them. Recently, I had a couple crashes on my computer while it had been idle, until finally my computer was stalling on the windows starting screen.

I could start in safemode, which I backed everything up from. Next time I restarted, BIOS said that there was an error in my hard drives and they were not bootable. I was able to boot from the OS CD, ran a chkdsk /R scan, along with the seagate hard drive scan, did a system restore and then reformatted my hard drive.

The result of all of this is that my computer seems to be working fine, except when I start my computer it says that one of my drives has an error (see picture). I ran benchmark tests and the drive seems to be holding up fine.

So my question is: Should I keep running with these hard drives, or is this a sign of impending doom?