Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

radio button input

Status
Not open for further replies.

zngo

Technical User
May 30, 2003
US
I just started learning javascript and I wanted to make an interface to the google search engine. I went on to implement the feature that filters languages and I found that I need to use a radio button set to do this.

I have looked around for ways to get values from radiobutton sets. I seem to always come across this one method..:

<input type=&quot;radio&quot; onClick=&quot;someFunction('value')&quot;>
// then the function would have the 'value' parameter..

I want to be able to (within js) use the value of the box that is checked. My method (that failed?) can be found here:

// the javscript part::
function searchgoogle(){
var url=window.document.googleform.url.value.split(&quot; &quot;);
var output=&quot;&quot;;
var lang=&quot;&quot;;
var options=window.document.googleform.language.length;
for (i=0; i<=options; i++){
if (window.document.googleform.language){
lang = window.document.googleform.language.value;
}
}
for (i=0; i<=url.length; i++){
output+=&quot;+&quot;+url;
}
output=output.substr(1,output.length-11);
window.open(&quot;}

<!-- the html:: -->
<form name=&quot;googleform&quot;>
<input type=&quot;text&quot; name=&quot;url&quot;>
<a href=&quot;javascript:searchgoogle()&quot;>Search</a>&nbsp;|&nbsp;<a href=&quot;javascript:reseturl()&quot;>Reset</a>
<br />
<input type=&quot;radio&quot; name=&quot;language&quot; value=&quot;&lr=lang_en&quot;>English
<input type=&quot;radio&quot; name=&quot;language&quot; value=&quot;&lr=lang_de&quot;>German
<br /><br />/* Looking for features to add... */
</form>

If you want to see the site live, its here: