Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

"Users" can not run programs that need admin rights 1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 30, 2001
US
I work as a tech at a community college where the students are logged in as generic users, in the users group, so they don't mess up the computers. Because of this, some applications will not run as they require administrator rights to run. We have not found an answer to this problem.
"Runas" is not appropriate in this case. Power user is giving them too much power also.

Any ideas ?

If you log in as Administrator and right click on the application and go to Security, and ADD the users, or better yet create a new group and add the group there and give the group the proper permissions there. Then add those users you wnat to use the application under the new group. Give that a shot and get back to us. James Collins
Systems Support Engineer
A+, MCP

email: butchrecon@skyenet.net

Please let us (Tek-tips members) know if the solutions we provide are helpful to you. Not only do they help you but they may help others.

I agree that in certain cases, the users or the users group need to be added to the security settings for the program in order for it to run, but in many cases this will not work.
The first thing you need to determine is WHY does one need to be an admin to run the app. Does the program mod the registry? What is it doing in the background? etc.
Where I work we have a few programs which interact with the OS in such a way that if the user is not at least a power user, then the prog will give up errors and kind of half way work.