Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

"Permission Denied" on output of flat file 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

webwriter

Programmer
May 18, 2001
US
Hi..
I have a survey ASP/VBScript that I want to capture the results from into a flat file.. WOrks great on IIS.. I transfer the code to my test web server and get "Permission denied" on the file that i'm creating on my web server. no code changes except in location of file. I've had my administrator check all passwords on the folder/web server and they have full rights.. Do you have a clue why i may be getting the "Permission Denied" when CreateTextFile is executed???

Also, I can create a simple text file in the webserver directory and access it.. So, i'm still not sure about where to go. I have checked the permissions on the folder/file that i'm trying to access in my webserver directory...

Thanks.. I could sure use help with this.. !!

Here is a sample of my code i'm using..
============================================================
dim ForAppending

ForAppending = 8

strFileName = "\\xxwebdev\test\CSsurvey.txt"

set filesys = createobject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

if filesys.fileExists(strFileName) then
set filetxt = filesys.OpenTextFile(strFileName, ForAppending, False)
else
set filetxt = filesys.CreateTextFile(strFileName)
end if
===========================================================
"Permission Denied" happens on "createtextfile" line..

Many thanks everyone...